Despite the cold the Park Shed of Park Spoor Noord in Antwerp felt a lot warmer on Saturday thanks to everyone's enthusiasm. The artist and film maker Hans Op de Beeck (°1969, Turnhout) filmed “Dance” here, his contemporary film about migration, which was commissioned by the Red Star Line Museum. “Dance” is a sober, poetic film which the Belgian artist hopes will make the public think about migration in the past and present.

A group of 770 extras played the role of Red Star Line emigrants. In simple, universal clothes, which had been specially designed for the project, they performed a dance consisting of ordinary, daily actions that relate to migration, travel and being on the move.

“The commitment of the almost 800 extras was heart-warming", Hans Op de Beeck said after he had finished shooting. "Even the extras for this morning’s shower scenes remained enthusiastic and professional, which is far from evident in this unexpectedly cold spring weather.”

“We were pleasantly surprised with people’s response to our call for extras. This shows that the public is really looking forward to the opening of the Red Star Line Museum this autumn”, said Luc Verheyen, the project coordinator of the het Red Star Line Museum.

“Dance” will be permanently shown as of the opening of the Red Star Line Museum on 28 September 2013, at the end of the museum visit. A last stop to encourage the public to reflect on and think about migration in the past and present.

 

Timelapse 6 april

Dance 6 april 2013 from 5GRADENOOST on Vimeo.

 

Some extras

  • "I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere; especially the work of Hans Op de Beeck and his staff. It made it a fun day. The shower scene was cold but heart-warming because everyone was in such a good mood. Belgium: thank you... on behalf of a Dutchman."
    Gert Hulleman
     
  • "Thank you for letting me experience this unforgettable day. And all credit goes to Hans Op de Beeck: what an amazing feat to get 800 people to be quiet and serene and let them do the same thing in a friendly and patient manner. It will definitely be a poignant and poetic film."
    Johanna Fontier
     
  • "An unforgettable experience, I was happy to be part of it, it was serene and impressive."
    Hans Heye

En dépit du froid, le hangar du Parc Spoor Noord baignait dans la chaleur de l’enthousiasme en ce samedi 6 avril. À la demande du Musée Red Star Line, le plasticien et cinéaste Hans Op de Beeck (°1969, Turnhout) tournait alors ‘Dance’, son film contemporain sur la migration. ‘Dance’ est un film sobre et poétique destiné à faire réfléchir le public sur l’émigration d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Quelque 770 figurants se sont glissés dans la peau d’un émigrant de la Red Star Line. Dans des vêtements sobres et universels spécialement créés pour le projet, ils se sont livrés à une chorégraphie de gestes simples et quotidiens évoquant l’émigration et le voyage.

“L’enthousiasme des près de 800 figurants faisait chaud au cœur”, dit Hans Op de Beeck à l’issue du tournage. “Même les figurants pour les scènes dans les douches le matin sont restés enthousiastes et professionnels, ce qui n’était pas évident compte tenu du froid.”

“Nous avons été agréablement surpris par la réaction à notre appel de figurants. Cela montre que le public attend avec impatience l’ouverture du Musée Red Star Line cet automne”, dit Luc Verheyen, coordinateur du projet du Musée Red Star Line.

‘Dance’ est projeté en boucle à la fin de la visite à partir de l’inauguration du Musée Red Star Line le 28 septembre. Une dernière halte pour faire réfléchir à l’immigration à travers les temps.

 

Timelapse 6 avril

Dance 6 april 2013 from 5GRADENOOST on Vimeo.

 

La parole à quelques figurants

  • "J’ai apprécié l’ambiance détendue, grâce notamment au travail de Hans op de Beeck et de ses collaborateurs. La journée s’est très bien passée. Il faisait froid pour les prises sous la douche, mais l’atmosphère était très chaleureuse. Au nom d’un Hollandais, merci à la Belgique."
    Gert Hulleman
     
  • "Merci de m’avoir donné la chance de vivre cette expérience inoubliable. Et chapeau bas pour Hans Op de Beek: obtenir de 800 personnes qu’elles restent silencieuses et calmes avec gentillesse et patience, il faut le faire ! Son film sera à coup sûr touchant et poétique."
    Johanna Fontier
     
  • "Une expérience inoubliable, sereine et impressionnante."
    Hans Heye