Sailor René jumps on his Vespa in 1958 to ask for the hand of the Italian Silvana after only several meetings. She leaves her country behind for him. In 1993, Fati meets Peter, who works as a teacher in her home country Burkina Faso, and she follows him to Belgium. And Anna went to Roger in America by a Red Star Line ship, convinced by his written marriage proposal.  In the passenger lists on her arrival, the authorities pen the word ‘Sweetheart’ under the ‘Destination’ column. Anna’s story is the inspiration for this expo.

‘Destination Sweetheart’ gives you a chance to follow a handful of love migrants. Listen to their outpourings, and allow yourself to be carried away by their stories and objects. Sometimes confrontational and shocking, often moving and intimate. Because usually, love is not something that comes easily.

Migrating for love and family reunification have been the main reasons for legal migration to Belgium in the past fifty years. Internet, cheap plane tickets, tourism and foreign studies play an important role. On the other hand, more and more checks are being carried out on marriages of convenience, and therefore the authenticity of relationships. In the expo, you will also be able to enjoy the catchy installation ‘Between us and everybody else’ by artists Kim Snauwaert and Anyuta Wiazemsky Snauwaert, who ask questions about privacy, intimacy, marriage and the state.

Whether it’s about moving to an Erasmus love, a casual meeting on a trip that becomes more, or a proposed marriage to someone outside their home country, migrating for love comes in all shapes and sizes. Discover what it means to go to the end of the world for love in ‘Destination Sweetheart’.

Practical information

  • 25/10/2020 - 30/05/2021
  • Exhibition in De Loods (Hangar)

Prices

Destination Sweetheart:

Full rate:
Discount:

€ 6
€ 4

 

Destination Sweetheart + permanent exhibition:

Full rate:
Discount:
A-card holder:

€ 12
€   8
€   6

For an overview of all prices and discounts, see 'Plan your visit'

Tickets

Buy a ticket for Destination Sweetheart

Buy a combiticket

banner photograph: collection Silvana Spallarossa

En 1958 et du haut de sa Vespa, René, un homme de la mer, prend son courage à deux mains pour demander celle de Silvana, la belle Italienne, après seulement quelques rendez-vous. Elle quitte alors son pays pour lui. En 1993, Fati rencontre Peter, alors enseignant au Burkina Faso, et le suit jusqu'en Belgique. Et Anna a rejoint Roger en Amérique avec un bateau de la Red Star Line, convaincue par sa demande en mariage épistolaire. À son arrivée, les autorités chargées de compléter le champ « Destination » de la liste des passagers y indiquèrent un seul mot : « Sweetheart ». Ainsi l'histoire d'Anna inspira-t-elle le thème de cette exposition.

« Destination Sweetheart » vous raconte l'histoire de quelques migrants amoureux. Vous entrerez dans leurs confidences et vous laisserez bercer par les récits et les reliques de leurs passions. Parfois troublantes et choquantes, souvent intimes et touchantes. Car l'amour s'obtient rarement sans combattre.

Les principales raisons de l'immigration légale en Belgique ces cinquante dernières années sont le regroupement familial et la migration par amour. Internet, billets d'avion bon marché, tourisme et études à l'étranger y sont pour beaucoup. Les mariages blancs sont d'autre part toujours plus contrôlés, et avec eux l'authenticité des relations. L'expo vous emmène aussi à travers « Between us and everybody else », installation captivante des artistes Kim Snauwaert et Anyuta Wiazemsky Snauwaert, qui soulèvent des questions sur la vie privée, l'intimité, le mariage et l'État.

Qu'il s'agisse d'emménager avec un amour d'Erasmus, une rencontre fortuite en voyage qui se transforme en quelque chose de plus, ou de la proposition d'une union avec un ressortissant étranger, la migration par amour est représentée sous toutes ses formes. Avec « Destination Sweetheart », découvrez ce que cela signifie d'aller au bout du monde par amour.

En pratique

  • 25/09/2020 - 30/05/2021
  • Exposition dans Le Hangar ('De Loods')

Tarifs

Destination Sweetheart :

Tarif plein :
Tarif reduit :

€ 6
€ 4

 

Destination Sweetheart + exposition permanente :

Tarif plein :
Tarif reduit :
Résidents d'Anvers avec une A-carte :

€ 12
€   8
€   6

Pour un aperçu de tous les prix et réductions, voir 'Préparez votre visite'

Billets

À cause de la fermeture temporaire du musée en raison des mesures Covid 19, la vente de billets a été suspendue.